Skip to Content

Grup de Genòmica Animal

Universitat Autnoma de Barcelona
“Nothing in biology makes sense except in the light of evolution” (Theodosius Dobhzansky)


Our research activity is aimed at addressing a whole range of different evolutionary questions through a multidisciplinary approach, combining computational and experimental methods such as available genome databases and a battery of molecular, cytogenetic and cell biology, and by studying the genomes of different mammalian species. We aim at the study of genome organization and evolutionary breakpoints in a wide range of mammalian species and to open new research avenues in the study of genome evolution.


Aurora Ruiz-Herrera Moreno- Principal Investigator and Associate Professor in Cell Biology. Department of Cell Biology, Physiology and Immunology, UAB (

Covadonga Vara González - PhD student

Andreu Paytuví - PhD student

Marta Marín- undergraduate student

Carla Roca- undergraduate student 


Recent Former Members

Marta Farré Belmonte (2008/2012) - Current position: Royal Veterinary Collegue (London, UK)

Sarai Pacheco (2009/2010) - Current position: Imperial College London (UK)

Rita Reig Viader (2009/2014) - Current position: IIB Sant Pau (Spain)

Laia Capilla (2009/2016) -  Current position: INRA Centre de Versailles (France)

Joana Segura (2010/2012) - Current position: Parc Científic de Barcelona (UB), Barcelona (Spain)

Marta Vila (2010/2013) - Current position: Department of Cell Biology (UAB), Barcelona (Spain)

Anna Ullastres (2011/2012)- Current position: Institut de Biologia Evolutiva (IBE-UPF), Barcelona (Spain)

Jonathan Fernández (2013/2014) - Current position: University of Vigo (Spain)

Marta Andrés Nieto (2013/2014) - Current position: Instituto de Química Avanzada de Cataluña (CSIC), Barcelona (Spain)

Rosa Ana Sánchez Guillén (2013/2015) - Current position: Instituto de Ecología AC (México)

Adrià Hernández Marsal (2014/2015) - Current position: Universitat Rovira i Virgili (Spain)

Verónica Olmos (2014/2015) - Current position: ArcelorMittal (Spain)



Terence J Robinson  -  University of Stellenbosch (South Africa)

Marcelo Cioffi  -  Universidad de San Carlos (Brazil)

Claudia Badiale  - University of Pavia (Italy)

Natalia Gablo - University of Rzeszow (Poland)